Looky Here’s Media Wing Premiering “The Lovelights” August 17th

— More info at https://lovelightstv.wordpress.com
Advertisements

Spring Opening: Friday April 26th

57127029_366888053915161_8142793720136204288_n

 

Spring Gallery Opening!

Featuring visiting artists: Tayler Jones: http://silo.bennington.edu/excerpt-from-childrens-book-the-search-for-salmonberries/
Duncan Bullen : http://silo.bennington.edu/duncan-bullen_72_2016/
and Becca White : http://beccawhite.website/new-gallery

A night of Improvised music at Looky Here featuring musicians from NYC and Western Mass, 7pm

Morits, Ali, Costa
Jonathan Moritz-saxophone, http://jonathanmoritz.com/
Sean Ali-bass, http://seanali.com/
Carlo Costa-drums, http://www.carlocostamusic.com
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BmyGbkxngvE

Saxophonist Jonathan Mortiz, double bassist Sean Ali and percussionist Carlo Costa have collaborated extensively since 2013. The three worked together regularly in Carlo Costa’s quartet which also included trombonist Steve Swell, and released the album Sediment on Neither/Nor Records in late 2014. Since Swell’s departure the three decided to become a collective trio.
The band is dedicated to free improvisation and has focused on developing a distinctive language and group sound. One of the objectives of this trio has been to subvert and upset the roles which each instrument holds in this classic jazz horn trio instrumentation, and to find different ways to interact. Timbre and sound itself often have a prominent role, and the solo/accompaniment roles are generally abandoned in lieu of weaving collective textures. Pacing and space are very important as well in order to create and sustain a sense of suspension in the music.

Eisenberg, Young, Weinberg
Wendy Eisenberg-guitar, https://www.wendyeisenberg.com/
Neil Young-drums
Sam Weinberg-saxophone, https://samweinbergsax.wordpress.com/about/

Cardinaux, Freedman, Wise
Eliot Cardinaux-piano, https://eliotcardinaux.wordpress.com/bio/
Myk Freedman-lap steel, https://mykfreedman.com/
Jake Wise-clarinet, http://www.jakewise.com/projects.html